Forest Fox “Live At Urban Artifact”

https://forestfoxofficial.bandcamp.com/album/forestfox-live-at-urban-artifact

I think I’m going to start my own recording studio. I mean, I basically have one. All of the equipment is there. But it doesn’t have a name – yet. And isn’t that how something is materialized into the universe? With a name? Right now it would be called Dark Damp Studios, because water is getting in from somewhere outside and pooling in one pesky low spot. Yes, you heard me right. Come record your next album in a puddle of water.

I say this because my last review was critical. And I have a few critiques for this one as well. Which was the point of starting this blog. To give honest reviews. Including constructive criticism if necessary. I just want people to know my heart is in the right place. So much so that I would enjoy recording bands to whom I give advice, so I can hold myself up to the light. Does my opinion hold any water, so to speak.

Today I review Forest Fox’s “Live At Urban Artifact”

First and foremost, kudos to submitting a live album for review. That’s ambitious and I must applaud it.

The first thing I noticed about Forest Fox is the lyricism. I personally put a lot of emphasis on lyricism. I think poignant lyrics are missing from today’s music at large, so I make an extra effort to put meaning behind what I say.

Forest Fox has a lot to say. Their lyrics sheet reads like a short story at times. In my opinion there’s pros and cons to writing lyrics in this format.

A major pro is that you’re obviously saying something with depth. It’s a far cry from your garden variety pop song that rhymes words with “love” in an AB pattern for three minutes. Long form lyricism allows you the space to describe things; to toy with pronouncing big words in interesting ways. A lot of really cool, catchy things can happen with this.

The biggest con to writing lyrics in this format is that the message can sometimes get lost. And I would imagine with so much to say, that there is a message you want to convey.

I have gone through this phase as a songwriter myself. Every time I write a song with a lot of words, it feels like I am just trying to fill in space where I’m not sure what to do with the song.

Granted, that is just me. There are many successful musicians who use this lyrical method very well. I think of Bob Dylan or even Connor Oberst. Or what about The Mars Volta? I remember reading the lyrics of their second album like, “Holy Thesaurus, guys!”

I have a suggestion. And remember, who am I? I’m just some dude with a soggy recording studio and an opinion. But hear me out.

My suggestion would be – to try writing a song where you condense one thought – one idea – from a long train of thoughts. Choose your sexiest couple of lines, and allow them to blossom. Really put me, the listener, there in the moment. I suggest this because a lot of the imagery in the lyrics is wonderful, but as soon as the mental image starts to take form, it is pushed away by another. Let me give you an example.

From “Daisy Shaking”

Track 4 on “Live At Urban Artifact”

“See it flowing in her blood breathe it out like cigarettes

A camera lense her closest friend, showin’ off her silhouette.”

Beautiful. That is poetry. But it’s just an excerpt from a much larger body of text, and I would argue that maybe the moment gets lost. I would try an exercise where you develop those two lines into four – maybe something like this:

“See it flowing in her blood – the cells are white and fighting

Breathe it out like cigarettes –the one that she is lighting

A camera lense her closest friend – it knows what she is hiding

Showin’ off her silhouette – a shadow so inviting

I have no idea what this song is about – I’m just riffing. But my point is, you could dissect your lyrics into smaller slices and expand the moment. Then write the song using just those four lines. I think it would have more impact.

Other than that the music itself is good but I feel like it’s just holding up the lyrics. Which is probably what it should be doing. Once again, there’s some real poetry there. But in the genre description is says “Lo-Fi” which I think is you selling yourself short. Maybe aim to be just a bit more Hi-Fi.

There’s a few timing issues, but it’s live and should work itself out with some more gigs. Also – nerves. If I get nervous onstage I clam up so I can’t hold it against you.

There are times when the vocals get very throaty and passionate. I’m thinking specifically of the ‘chorus’ to “Plastic Acts.” I love these moments. It really makes me feel connected to the song. It displays the emotion of the lyrics. That’s something I would embrace more often.

At times I hear The Cure, and at others I hear a hint of Daniel Johnston. Which are two ends of the spectrum. The cure is polished and drenched in moody production, and Daniel Johnston is as stripped down and Lo-Fi as it gets. I love both. But I would suggest to lean one way or the other per song.

Overall I’m intrigued. As a fellow writer I am excited to see interesting imagery in a local band’s songs. And as I understand it, you’re a newer band. Cincinnati is your oyster – and it’s ready to be cracked open… er, I’m sorry. It’s 4 A.M. I’m delusional. Let me try one more time. Cincinnati is your oyster cracker – throw it on a 3-way and pour hot sauce all over it. Oh my god I’m going to bed.

The quick of it: Forest Fox’s “Live At Urban Artifact” is an ambitious release from a promising new band. The lyrics have depth, alliteration, and imagery. A sort of audio journal. Tune in and read along!

Leave a comment