Motel Faces “Never Die Young”

www.motelfaces.com

Motel Faces’ “Never Die Young” is a straight up Rock N Roll album. I know I just said a review or two ago that I wanted to abandon genre names all together, but there would be no other way to describe it.

Some of the guitar riffs on this album are taken right from the playbook. Or actually, they should be added to the playbook. If the guitar player in this band isn’t playing a Les Paul it’s a sin.

The vocals are the focal point. And I have to say the singer has an excellent Hard Rock voice. Very elastic with a wide range.

This album is loud. It’s bad ass. It’s – dare I say – sexy.

But having said that I do take issue with one thing. Buckle-up because I’m getting behind the wheel of the Producer-mobile.

Timing.

I will try to approach this from every angle.

While the overall timing on the album is solid, there are key moments where it comes apart. And I mean just a little bit.

Now you may be thinking, “But Ghost Writer, you just said yourself it’s Rock N Roll. Isn’t it supposed to be a little loose?” The answer to that question is yes, sometimes, and no.

Yes: It’s entirely possible that this was intentional. Sometimes leaving the timing loose can achieve a sense of urgency and create a very live feel. Lord knows I have created many recordings where a few hits were off and I thought Good! That makes it more punk. But the problem for me is that this isn’t punk… More on that point later.

Sometimes: If we were to dig through albums from the seventies, you would find plenty of songs – some that are played on the radio to this day – that if you listen close enough, the ride cymbal goes in and out of time. Or perhaps one of the fills comes in on the wrong beat. A lot of Black Sabbath songs are like this, and it just works.

No: Here’s the problem for me. Motel Faces is an in-your-face rock band. They have all of the makings of a band who should sell out arenas. I think they are doing themselves a disservice to allow any slack in their recording.

Now – that’s of course coming from me. I am obsessive compulsive about playing to a metronome. I have put so many hours into recording to a metronome that it has become second nature. Sometimes I even get mad at my metronome when the power surges and it throws off the beat by a nanosecond. I’m kidding. But my point is – my ear is calibrated, so I can pinpoint the issue.

Now let’s look at our average music consumer. Whether we like it or not, most people are so accustomed to hearing everything auto-tuned and quantized. Everything is polished. Everything sounds perfect. So when they hear music with timing issues, they don’t think – ‘ah, that beat was a little off.’ Instead, things just sound a bit muddied and chaotic.

Now if this were a punk album I’d actually be upset if they’d even used a metronome. If any punk band is worth their salt they’ll use a single microphone in the center of the room while the singer tries to be heard over the rest of the band.

But getting back to my point from earlier – this isn’t a punk album. It’s a Rock N Roll album. And a damn strong one at that. It should be razor tight.

Ok. I’m out of the Producer-mobile. Sorry, I get road rage in there sometimes.

I bring this issue up not to discourage Motel Faces, but to empower them.

With no context, I can’t be sure what Motel Faces’ prime objective is. If it’s to be a very solid local Rock band, then mission accomplished. But, if it’s world domination they seek (and let’s be honest, any one who has ever played an electric guitar has at least fantasized about it) then heed my advice. In fact, come record with me. I’ll be a stickler and push you to give your best performance in the studio.

Having said all of that, “Never Die Young” is a very strong 8 song album. The guitar work is classic, and the vocals are very clean. There are great harmonies sprinkled throughout and these dudes know how to write a hook with no question. When I listen to “Never Die Young” I hear The Black Crows. I hear Blind Melon. And I hear Janes Addiction.

That’s what I’m saying guys. You’re in good company. I wanna hear your band as slick as possible. Then get out there and show Greta Van Fleet what Cincinnati is made of.

The quick of it: Motel Faces’ “Never Die Young” could be taught as reference material for how modern Rock N Roll is supposed to sound. “Moving Along” has a great hook and I’m looking forward to seeing what their next move is.

Leave a comment